انتقل إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

إدارة آفات فول الصويا لجشريات الأجنحة في البرازيل

موضوع: أدلة الآفات

موضوع: أدلة المحاصيل

فراشة فول الصويا على ورقة
لوبر فول الصويا (يشمل Chrysodeixis) عثة على ورقة

البرنامج

تلعب رتبة حرشفيات الأجنحة، بما في ذلك الفراشات والعث، دورًا مهمًا في النظم البيئية الطبيعية كملقحات وفي السلسلة الغذائية. ومع ذلك، فإن يرقاتها تشكل مشكلة، خاصة بالنسبة للنباتات الزراعية، لأنها تتغذى في الغالب على المواد النباتية الحية، مما يتسبب في أضرار للمحاصيل وسبل العيش.

في هذا الدليل ، نغطي كيفية التعرف على آفات حرشفية الأجنحة وإدارتها ومكافحتها ومراقبتها في محاصيل فول الصويا ، والتي تمثل مشكلة خاصة في البرازيل.

تتغذى عدة أنواع من اليرقات قشريات الجناح على أوراق فول الصويا ، بما في ذلك كاتربيلر فول الصويا، انتيكارسيا جيمماتاليس. وبالنظر إلى وفرتها وتكرار حدوثها في المناطق المزروعة بفول الصويا في البلاد، فإنها تعتبر من أهم الآفات.

وقد لوحظ مؤخرًا نوعان آخران من الحشرات يسببان مشاكل في المحاصيل. أدت التغييرات في إدارة المحاصيل في بعض سبودوبترا الأنواع التي تعمل كمزيل للنباتات منذ عام 2003 ، خاصةً حيث تنمو محاصيل فول الصويا بالقرب من المراعي أو الذرة أو غيرها من الأعشاب.

بالإضافة إلى اكتشاف الآفات الغازية دودة اللوز القطنية هيليكوفيربا أرميجيرا بين عامي 2012 و 2013 كان مصدر قلق مزارعي فول الصويا في البرازيل ودول أخرى ، مثل باراغواي والأرجنتين ، بسبب الأضرار الجسيمة التي تسببها لمحاصيل الذرة والقطن والذرة الرفيعة.

التعرف على الآفات Lepidopteran في محاصيل فول الصويا

انتيكارسيا جيمماتاليس آفة (كاتربيلر فول الصويا)

الفاصوليا المخملية (Anticarsia Gemmatalis)
تراكتور
الفاصوليا المخملية (Anticarsia Gemmatalis)
فراشة

الطور الأول من كاتربيلر فول الصويا ، أ. جيماتاليس، لونه أخضر، وله أربعة أزواج من الأرجل البطنية. اثنان منها أثري والآخر زوج شرجي، مما يجعل اليرقة تتحرك بطريقة تجعلها تبدو وكأنها تقيس المسافات، ونتيجة لذلك يتم الخلط بينها في كثير من الأحيان مع فول الصويا (يتضمن Chrysodeixis). يمكن أن تكون اليرقات الأكبر حجمًا (> 1.5 سم) إما خضراء أو داكنة ، مع ثلاثة خطوط طولية بيضاء على الظهر. الشرانق بنية اللون وعادة ما توجد في الأرض. تتراوح أحجام الأجنحة البالغة من 30 إلى 38 ملم ، وتتنوع ألوانها من الرمادي الفاتح إلى البني الداكن. خط قطري بني فاتح ينضم عند طرف الزوج الأول من الأجنحة يساعد في التعرف.

يتضمن Chrysodeixis آفة (لوب فول الصويا)

لوب فول الصويا (يشمل Chrysodeixis) كاتربيلرعثة فول الصويا (Chrysodeixis تشمل)

دبرت حديثا C. يشمل اليرقات خضراء فاتحة ولها خطوط طولية بيضاء مع نقاط سوداء. في كل مرحلة ، تتغير اليرقات من اللون الأخضر الفاتح إلى الأخضر الجير الشفاف. تحدث الخادرة تحت شبكة ، عادة على السطح المحوري للأوراق. على عكس أ. جيماتاليس، له لون أصفر باهت إلى أخضر فاتح في البداية ، وسرعان ما يتطور تصبغ ظهر غير منتظم يستمر لمدة تصل إلى 48 ساعة قبل ظهور البالغين. البالغات يبلغ طول جناحيها 35 ملم ، مع ترتيب الأجنحة بشكل مائل. الأجنحة الأمامية داكنة اللون وبها بقعتان فضيتان ساطعتان في المنتصف والأجنحة الخلفية بنية اللون.

اليرقات من سبودوبترا مجمع

spodoptera cosmioides (ووكر) و سبودوبترا إريدانيا اليرقات (Cramer) هي أكثر الأنواع شيوعًا في محاصيل فول الصويا ، خاصة في بداية مرحلة محصول التكاثر ، وتتسبب في تساقط الأوراق وكذلك مهاجمة قرون الصويا. ورق القطن frugiperda (سميث) و سبودوبترا البولا يمكن أن يحدث (ووكر) أيضًا في النباتات النابتة حديثًا ، عندما تقطع اليرقات ذات العمر المتأخر النباتات القريبة من الأرض.

دودة الحشد الجنوبية
(سبودوبترا إريدانيا) كاتربيلر
عثة دودة الحشد الجنوبية
Spodoptera cosmioides كاتربيلرعثة Spodoptera cosmioides
سقوط دودة الحشد (Spodoptera frugiperda) كاتربيلرعثة دودة الحشد (Spodoptera frugiperda)

هيليكوفيربا أرميجيرا آفة (دودة اللوز القطنية)

دبرت حديثا هيليكوفيربا أرميجيرا تتميز اليرقات بأنها فاتحة اللون، مع وجود بقع صغيرة تصبح أغمق مع تطور اليرقات. لديهم أيضًا خطوط على طول أجسادهم، وبروز داكن يشبه السرج في الجزء الرابع، وأرجل داكنة. اليرقات المتأخرة العمر لها شعر أبيض حول رؤوسها. يمكنك العثور على الشرانق في التربة تحت المحاصيل. يبلغ طول جناحي البالغين 30 إلى 45 ملم. لون الإناث بني إلى بني محمر، بينما لون الذكور أخضر معتم إلى أصفر أو بني فاتح. الأجنحة الخلفية فاتحة اللون ولها هامش خارجي واسع ومظلم مع نقطة مضيئة صغيرة.

دودة اللوز القطنية (Helicoverpa armigera) كاتربيلرعثة دودة اللوز القطنية (Helicoverpa armigera)

الإدارة المتكاملة للآفات كاستراتيجية لإدارة تجمعات آفات حرشفية الأجنحة 

ما هي المكافحة المتكاملة للآفات؟

إن معرفة كيفية التعرف على الآفات الرئيسية ، والرصد في الميدان ، والعمل من مستويات العمل الموصى بها في البحث الحالي تسمح للمزارعين بتحديد أساليب الإدارة التي يجب تطبيقها.

في هذه الحالة ، من المهم اعتماد الإدارة المتكاملة للآفات (IPM) ، باعتبارها وسيلة فعالة لمكافحة الآفات. تعمل IPM على تنسيق المكافحة الفعالة للآفات ، والمسؤولية الاجتماعية والبيئية ، والإنتاجية باستخدام أساليب مثل المكافحة البيولوجية ، والتحكم الثقافي ، ومقاومة النبات ، وحتى المكافحة الكيميائية الواعية بالبيئة. تركز معظم تعريفات المكافحة المتكاملة للآفات على استخدام استراتيجيات التحكم التي تهدف إلى تقليل خسائر المحاصيل من خلال المعرفة العلمية والدعم التكنولوجي والحس السليم.

هيكل الهرم. الكتلة الخضراء: المراقبة والتعلم المستمر. الكتلة الصفراء: مقاومة النبات والممارسات الزراعية الجيدة. الكتلة الرمادية: المكافحة البيولوجية. الكتلة البرتقالية: التحكم الميكانيكي. الأزرق العلوي: التحكم الكيميائي.

تتضمن التكتيكات في سياق IPM-Soja المراقبة مرة واحدة على الأقل في الأسبوع للتحقق من عدد الآفات وكذلك حجم اليرقات ومستوى الضرر الناجم (نسبة تساقط الأوراق ، عدد النباتات التي تعرضت للهجوم).


يعد تسليط الضوء على تدابير المكافحة بعد ظهور الآفة أمرًا بالغ الأهمية، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار العلاقة بين كثافة الآفة ومستوى الضرر ومستوى العمل المحدد للمحصول.

ما هو مستوى العمل؟

مستوى الإجراء هو معلمة تحدد أنسب وقت لتطبيق تدابير مكافحة الآفات. إذا كانت مستويات تكاثر الآفات أقل من مستوى العمل الموصى به ، فليس من الضروري استخدام تدابير المكافحة ، ولكن المراقبة مهمة! عندما يصل عدد السكان إلى مستوى الإجراء الموصى به أو يتجاوزه، يجب على المرء اتخاذ تدابير التحكم.

بالإضافة إلى استخدام المبيدات الحشرية في الوقت المناسب، تعد المبيدات الحشرية الانتقائية ضرورية لضمان الحفاظ على الكائنات الحية المفيدة التي تعمل كمكافحة بيولوجية للآفات. لا تستخدم أبدًا هذه المبيدات الانتقائية بشكل وقائي، لأن ذلك يؤدي إلى تفاقم مشاكل الآفات.

  • في البرازيل ، هناك العديد من المنتجات المسجلة للاستخدام في مكافحة آفات فول الصويا. يعد تناوب المنتج والاستخدام المسؤول للمبيدات من العوامل التي لا غنى عنها في إدارة مقاومة الحشرات. لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى زيارة الموقع http://www.cnpso.embrapa.br/helicoverpa/publicacoes.htm.

البدائل البيولوجية لمكافحة دودة اللوز القطنية (هيليكوفيربا أرميجيرا)

في ولاية باهيا ، دودة اللوز القطنية (ح. أرميجيرا) اليرقات كانت مصابة بالفطر بشكل طبيعي نومورا رايلي (Hypocreales: Claviccipitaceae) ، حيث بلغ معدل الوفيات 33٪.

كما يتزايد استخدام الطفيليات في البرازيل. خلال موسم النمو 2013-14 ، سميت الأنواع Trichogramma premiosum تم استخدامه في حوالي 250,000 هكتار من فول الصويا للتحكم في عدد ح. أرميجيرا و  جيم يشمل بيض. كما تم تطبيقه على محاصيل أخرى، بما في ذلك القطن والذرة والفاصوليا والفواكه. فضلاً عن ذلك، Trichogrammatoidea annulata أظهر إمكانية مهمة للتطفل.

تم استيراد فيروسات باكولوفيروس من دول مثل أستراليا لاستخدامها في البرازيل. في عام 2019 ، تم الإبلاغ عن HearNPV- وهو نوع من الفيروسات القهقرية النووية (NPV) يرتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بأنواع الفيروسات البكتيرية من أستراليا والهند وجنوب إفريقيا والصين- لأول مرة. تشير خصائصه المبيدات الحشرية إلى أنه يمكن استخدامه لتصنيع المبيدات الحيوية ح. أرميجيرا السيطرة في البرازيل.

قد يكون أحد الخيارات المستدامة الأخرى هو اعتماد فول الصويا Bt (أي فول الصويا الذي يعبر عن بروتين Cry1Ac) ، والمتوفر على نطاق واسع في البرازيل ؛ ومع ذلك ، من المهم التأكيد على الحاجة إلى إنشاء منطقة ملجأ مع فول الصويا غير Bt ، والتي يمكن أن تشغل 20٪ إلى 50٪ من الحقل الكلي ، لضمان فعالية فول الصويا Bt.

معرفة مستوى العمل ل هيليوثيس هيليكوفيربا مجمع كاتربيلر في فول الصويا

منذ ح. أرميجيرا تم الإبلاغ عنه في البرازيل في عامي 2012 و 2013 ، أوصي بإجراء عمليات تفتيش دورية للمحاصيل مرة واحدة على الأقل في الأسبوع في المرحلة الخضرية ، وما يصل إلى مرتين في الأسبوع خلال مرحلة الإنجاب (R1 إلى R6). ح. أرميجيرا يهاجم الهياكل التناسلية للنباتات أثناء مرحلة التكاثر ، وبالتالي يصبح مشكلة أكبر.

لأن ح. أرميجيرا (آفة غازية) ، هيليكوفيربا زيا (دودة أذن الذرة) ، و هيليوثيس فيرسنس اليرقات (دودة براعم التبغ) متشابهة جدًا ، والتعرف البصري يكاد يكون مستحيلًا ، لذلك يجب تصميم وتنفيذ مستوى العمل والإدارة لجميع هذه الآفات الثلاثة.

مبيدات حشرية انتقائية يمكن أن يكون خيارًا قابلاً للتطبيق ولكن يجب تطبيقه دائمًا فيما يتعلق بـ مستويات العمل من أجل تقليل النفقات الناتجة عن التطبيقات غير الضرورية. مبيدات حشرية انتقائية فهي أقل ضرراً على الحشرات النافعة التي تكثر على المحاصيل وتوفر المكافحة البيولوجية للآفات (الأعداء الطبيعيين). وخاصة الحيوانات المفترسة والطفيليات، وكذلك العوامل المسببة للأمراض المعوية مثل الفيروسات والبكتيريا والفطريات والديدان الخيطية، المسؤولة عن الحد من أعداد الحشرات الحشرية.

مستويات العمل لأنواع الآفات حرشفية الأجنحة في فول الصويا

رسم بياني يوضح المرحلة الخضرية.

خياران للمراقبة لـ هيليكوفيربا أرميجيرا

تعتبر ورقة الضرب التي يبلغ طولها 1 متر هي الأداة الرئيسية لتشخيص الآفات في المحاصيل. يمكن للمزارعين استخدام هذه الأداة البسيطة بسهولة.

ورقة الضرب 

  1. ضع ورقة الضرب بين صفين من فول الصويا ، مع الحرص على عدم هز أي نباتات في الصف المختار لأخذ العينات.
  2. في حالة هيليكوفيربا، الخطوة الأولى هي التحقق من نقاط نمو النبات في مساحة 1 متر. تبدأ هجمات الآفات عند نقاط النمو ، وهي الأماكن المفضلة للعث لوضع البيض.
  3. بعد التحقق من نقاط النمو بشكل فردي ، قم بهز النباتات على ورقة الضرب للعثور على أي يرقات أكبر في أوراق الشجر.
  4. احسب عدد اليرقات الموجودة في اتجاه خطي. استخدم ست إلى عشر نقاط نمو لكل 100 هكتار. كلما زاد عدد نقاط أخذ العينات ، كان من الأسهل على المزارع أن يقرر ما إذا كان سيستخدم نوعًا من التحكم.
  5. باستخدام متوسط ​​عدد اليرقات التي تم العثور عليها ، يمكن للمزارع أن يقرر إما تطبيق السيطرة أو مواصلة المراقبة خلال الأسابيع القادمة.

أداة تعليمية

الطريقة الأخرى المستخدمة هي ورقة المراقبة ، أداة تعليمية على موقع EMBRAPA، يعرض صورًا لآفات فول الصويا الرئيسية ، مع طاولات لتسجيل عدد اليرقات الصغيرة والكبيرة ، بالإضافة إلى معلومات عن الأعداء الطبيعية الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تساعد المزارع.

استراتيجية فعالة لإدارة آفات حرشفية الأجنحة

في الختام، فإن المكافحة المتكاملة للآفات هي الطريقة الأكثر كفاءة لإدارة آفات حرشفيات الأجنحة في محاصيل فول الصويا في البرازيل. ويجمع هذا بين مراقبة ومنع تجمعات الآفات مع تطبيق تدابير المكافحة المباشرة المختارة بعناية عند الحاجة فقط. يعد التعرف الفوري على حالات الإصابة بشكل صحيح أمرًا ضروريًا لتنفيذ طرق المكافحة والوقاية المناسبة.

زر ال بوابة الحماية الحيوية CABI البرازيل لمعرفة خيارات المكافحة الحيوية المسجلة والمتاحة لآفات فول الصويا في البرازيل.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

مقالات ذات صلة

هل هذه الصفحة مفيدة؟

نأسف لأن الصفحة لم تتوافق مع
التوقعات. من فضلك دعنا نعرف كيف
يمكننا تحسينه.

Skip to main content

Soybean pest management of Lepidoptera in Brazil

Theme: Pest guides

Theme: Crop guides

A Soybean looper moth on a leaf
Soybean looper (Chrysodeixis includens) moth on a leaf

Overview

The Lepidoptera order, including butterflies and moths, play an important role in natural ecosystems as pollinators and in the food chain. However, certain larvae pose a problem, particularly for agricultural vegetation, as they predominantly feed on live plant matter, causing damage to crops and livelihoods.

In this guide, we cover how to recognize, manage, control and monitor Lepidoptera pests in soybean crops, which is a particularly problematic issue in Brazil.

Several species of lepidopteran caterpillars feed on soybean leaves, including the soybean caterpillar, Anticarsia gemmatalis. Considering its abundance and frequent occurrence in soybean-cultivated regions of the country, it is deemed the most significant pest.

Two other insect species have recently been observed causing problems in crops. Changes in crop management have resulted in some Spodoptera species acting as a crop defoliator since 2003, mainly where soybean crops grow close to pastures, corn, or other grasses.

Additionally, the discovery of the invasive pest cotton bollworm Helicoverpa armigera between 2012 and 2013 has been worrying soybean farmers in Brazil and other countries, such as Paraguay and Argentina, due to the severe damage it causes to corn, cotton, and sorghum crops.

Recognizing Lepidopteran pests in soybean crops

Anticarsia gemmatalis (Soybean Caterpillar)

Velvetbean (Anticarsia gemmatalis)
caterpillar
Velvetbean (Anticarsia gemmatalis)
moth

The first instar of the soybean caterpillar, A. gemmatalis, is green, with four pairs of abdominal legs. Two of which are vestigial and another anal pair, causing the caterpillar to move in a way that makes it seem as if it is measuring distances, with the result that it is often confused with the soybean looper (Chrysodeixis  includens). Larger caterpillars (>1.5 cm) can be either green or dark, with three white longitudinal lines on the back. The pupae are brown and are usually located in the ground. Adult wingspans range from 30 to 38 mm, and their colors vary from light grey to dark brown. A diagonal light brown line joining at the tip of the first pair of wings aids recognition.

Chrysodeixis includens (Soybean looper)

Soybean looper (Chrysodeixis includens) caterpillarSoybean looper (Chrysodeixis includens) moth

Newly hatched C. includes caterpillars are light green and have white longitudinal stripes with black dots. In each instar, the caterpillars change from a light brownish green to a translucent lime green. The pupa occurs under a web, usually on the abaxial surface of the leaves. Unlike A. gemmatalis, it has a pale yellow to light green color at the beginning, and quickly develops irregular dorsal pigmentation that lasts for up to 48 hours before adult emergence. Adults have a wingspan of 35 mm, with the wings arranged in a slanted shape. The forewings are dark in color and have two bright silvery spots in the center, and the hindwings are brown.

Caterpillars of the Spodoptera complex

Spodoptera cosmioides (Walker) and Spodoptera eridania (Cramer) caterpillars are the most common species in soybean crops, especially at the beginning of the reproductive crop phase, and cause defoliation as well as attacking soy pods. Spodoptera frugiperda (Smith) and Spodoptera albula (Walker) can also occur in newly germinated plants, when late-instar caterpillars cut the plants close to the ground.

Southern armyworm
(Spodoptera eridania) caterpillar
Southern armyworm (Spodoptera eridania) moth
Spodoptera cosmioides caterpillarSpodoptera cosmioides moth
Fall armyworm (Spodoptera frugiperda) caterpillarFall armyworm (Spodoptera frugiperda) moth

Helicoverpa armigera (cotton bollworm)

Newly hatched Helicoverpa armigera caterpillars are light in color, with small spots that become darker as the larvae develop. They also have lines along their bodies, a dark saddle-like protuberance on the fourth segment, and dark legs. Late-instar caterpillars have white hairs around their heads. You can find pupae in the soil beneath the crops. Adults have a wingspan of 30 to 45 mm. Females are brown to reddish brown, while males are opaque greenish to yellow or light brown. The hindwings are light in color and have a wide, dark outer margin with a small light spot.

Cotton bollworm (Helicoverpa armigera) caterpillarCotton bollworm (Helicoverpa armigera) moth

Integrated Pest Management as a strategy to manage Lepidoptera pest populations 

What is Integrated Pest Management?

Knowing how to recognize the main pests, monitoring in the field, and acting from the action levels recommended upon current research allows farmers to decide which management tactics to apply.

In this case, it is important to adopt Integrated Pest Management (IPM), as this an effective way to fight pests. IPM works to coordinate efficient pest control, social and environmental responsibility, and productivity using such tactics as biological control, cultural control, plant resistance, and even environmentally conscious chemical control. Most definitions of IPM focus on the use of control strategies that aim to minimize crop losses through scientific knowledge, technological support, and common sense.

A pyramid structure. Green block: Monitoring and continuous learning. Yellow block: Plant resistance and good agricultural practices. Grey block: Biological control. Orange block: Mechanical control. Top blue: Chemical control.

Tactics in an IPM-Soja context include monitoring at least once a week to check the number of pests as well as the size of the caterpillars and the level of damage caused (defoliation percentage, number of attacked plants).


Highlighting control measures post-pest appearance is crucial, considering the relationship between pest density, damage level, and the established Action Level for the crop.

What is the Action Level?

The Action Level is a parameter that defines the most opportune time to apply pest control measures. If pest population levels are below the recommended Action Level, it is not necessary to use control measures, but monitoring is important! When the population reaches or exceeds the recommended Action Level, one must take control measures.

In addition to the timely application of pesticides, selective insecticides are essential to ensure the preservation of beneficial organisms that act as biological pest controls. Never apply these selective pesticides preventively, as this intensifies pest problems.

  • In Brazil, there are several registered products for use in soybean pest control. Product rotation and the responsible use of insecticides are indispensable factors in managing insect resistance. For more information, please visit http://www.cnpso.embrapa.br/helicoverpa/publicacoes.htm.

Biological alternatives for controlling Cotton Bollworm (Helicoverpa armigera)

In the state of Bahia, Cotton Bollworm (H. armigera) larvae were naturally infected by the fungus Nomuraea rileyi (Hypocreales: Claviccipitaceae), reaching a 33% mortality rate.

The use of parasitoids has also been growing in Brazil. During the 2013-14 growing season, a species called Trichogramma pretiosum was used on about 250,000 hectares of soybeans to control the number of H. armigera and C. includens eggs. It was also applied to other crops, including cotton, maize, beans, and fruits. In addition, Trichogrammatoidea annulata showed an important potential for parasitism.

Baculoviruses have been imported from countries such as Australia for use in Brazil. In 2019, HearNPV- a species of nucleopolyhedrovirus (NPV) closely related to baculovirus species from Australia, India, South Africa, and China- was reported for the first time. Its insecticidal properties indicate that it can be used to manufacture bioinsecticides for H. armigera control in Brazil.

  • To find out which biocontrol options are registered and available for soybean pests in Brazil, visit the CABI BioProtection Portal.

Another sustainable option may be the adoption of Bt soybeans (i.e., soybeans that express the Cry1Ac protein), which are widely available in Brazil; however, it is important to emphasize the need to establish a refuge area with non-Bt soybeans, which can take up 20% to 50% of the overall field, to ensure the Bt soybeans are effective.

Knowing the Action Level for the Heliothis-Helicoverpa caterpillar complex in soybeans

Since H. armigera was reported in Brazil in 2012 and 2013, periodic crop inspections were recommended at least once a week in the vegetative phase, and up to twice a week during the reproductive phase (R1 to R6). H. armigera attacks the reproductive structures of the plants during the reproductive phase, and thus becomes more of a problem.

Because H. armigera (an invasive pest), Helicoverpa zea (corn earworm), and Heliothis virescens (tobacco budworm) caterpillars are very similar, visual identification is almost impossible, so the level of action and management should be designed and carried out for all three of these pests.

Selective insecticides can be a viable option but should always be applied with respect to the Action Levels in order to minimize expenditures caused by unnecessary applications. Selective insecticides are less harmful to beneficial insects that frequent crops and provide biological pest control (natural enemies). Especially predators and parasitoids, as well as to enteropathogenic agents such as viruses, bacteria, fungi, and nematodes, which are responsible for the reduction of pest insect populations.

Action Levels for Lepidoptera pest species in soybeans

A graph showing the Vegetative stage.

Two monitoring options for Helicoverpa armigera

The beating sheet, which is 1 m long, is the main tool for pest diagnosis in crops. Farmers can easily use this simple tool.

Beating sheet 

  1. Place the beating sheet between two soybean rows, taking care not to shake any plants in the row chosen for sampling.
  2. In the case of Helicoverpa, the first step is to check plant growth points within a 1 m space. Pest attacks start at the growth points, which are the preferred places for moths to lay eggs.
  3. After checking the growth points individually, shake the plants on the beating sheet to find any larger caterpillars in the foliage.
  4. Count the caterpillars found in a linear direction. Use six to ten growth points per 100 hectares. The greater the number of sampling points, the easier it will be for the farmer to decide whether to use some type of control.
  5. Using the average number of caterpillars found, the farmer can decide either to apply control or to continue monitoring over the coming weeks.

Didactic tool

The other method used is the monitoring sheet, a didactic tool on the EMBRAPA website, that shows photographs of the main soybean pests, with tables to record the number of small and large caterpillars, as well as information on the main natural enemies that can assist the farmer.

An effective strategy to manage pest populations of Lepidoptera

In conclusion, integrated pest management is the most efficient method of managing Lepidoptera pests in soybean crops in Brazil. This combines monitoring and preventing pest populations with the application of carefully selected direct control measures only when needed. Promptly identifying infestations correctly is essential to implement appropriate control and prevention methods.

Visit the CABI BioProtection Portal Brazil to find out which biocontrol options are registered and available for soybean pests in Brazil.

Share this page

Related articles

Is this page helpful?

We are sorry the page didn't meet your
expectations. Please let us know how
we can improve it.