انتقل إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

مبيد حيوي فطري للوقاية من أسراب الجراد ومكافحتها

موضوع: عوامل المكافحة الحيوية

عشرات الجراد الصحراوي تجثم في شرق إفريقيا
جاثم الجراد الصحراوي البلهارسيا القطعي في شرق إفريقيا © CABI

عوامل المكافحة الحيوية لديها القدرة على السيطرة بشكل فعال حتى على أكثر الآفات تدميراً. في السنوات الأخيرة ، تم استخدام مبيد حيوي فطري على نطاق واسع لمكافحة الجراد الصحراوي في إفريقيا. بالإضافة إلى كونها أقل ضررًا على البيئة ، فإن إحدى مزايا المواد الواقية الحيوية ، تمنع العامل الفطري خسائر اقتصادية كبيرة.  

آفة الجراد الصحراوي

الجراد الصحراوي Schistocerca gregaria ، هي واحدة من أكثر الآفات الزراعية شهرة في العالم. تمثل الآفة مشكلة في العديد من البلدان في إفريقيا وآسيا. أسراب الجراد مدمرة بشكل خاص لأنها تهاجم مجموعة متنوعة من المحاصيل ويمكن أن تقضي على محاصيل ومراعي بأكملها.

الجراد الصحراوي مسؤول عن خسارة كبيرة في الغلال. إنه يهدد الأمن الغذائي وسبل عيش الناس. كما أنها تتغذى على النباتات البرية ، ولها عواقب وخيمة على البيئة. كما أن الجراد الصحراوي خطير للغاية لأنه يستطيع السفر لمسافات طويلة تصل إلى 140 كيلومترًا في اليوم. يمكن أن ينتشر بسرعة بعد ذلك إلى جميع الحقول في المنطقة.

إذا لم يتم السيطرة عليها بنجاح ، فإن هذه الآفة لن تتسبب فقط في خسائر فادحة في المحاصيل والخسائر الاقتصادية ، بل يمكنها أيضًا أن تستقر في مناطق جديدة.

مبيد حيوي ميكروبي ضد الجراد

تم تطوير عوامل المكافحة الحيوية الميكروبية واستخدامها لمكافحة أنواع مختلفة من الجراد والجراد ، بما في ذلك الجراد الصحراوي. المنتجات تحتوي على فطر يسمى ميتارهيزيوم أنيسوبلياي. العضلات الخضراءTM هو أحد المنتجات التي تعمل CABI عليها الفيل فيرت.  

يتم رش المبيدات الحيوية الميكروبية على الجراد. يصيب الفطر الجراد ويبدأ بالنمو بداخله. في الأيام القليلة الأولى ، يصبح الجراد ضعيفًا. يتغذون بشكل أقل ويتحركون بشكل أبطأ. يجعلهم فريسة سهلة للطيور والحيوانات المفترسة الأخرى ويمنعهم من الانتشار أكثر من اللازم. هذا يقلل بالفعل من تلف المحاصيل. في النهاية ، يموت الجراد من العدوى.

قتيلان من الجراد المصابان بفطر Metarhizium
قتل الجراد من قبل أ متارهيزيوم ص. الفطريات © CSIRO عبر science.image.csiro.au (CC BY 3.0)

فعالية وفوائد المبيدات الحيوية الميكروبية

العضلات الخضراءTM فعالة بشكل خاص قدر الإمكان تقتل ما يصل إلى 90٪ من الجراد المعالج في غضون ثلاثة أسابيع. منع هذا الفطر الممرض خسائر كبيرة خلال العديد من الفاشيات في السنوات الأخيرة. على سبيل المثال ، تم استخدامه في عامي 2019 و 2020 في شمال شرق إفريقيا على مساحة تزيد عن 230 ألف هكتار.  

العضلات الخضراءTM له العديد من المزايا. إنه أكثر فعالية من مبيدات الآفات الكيميائية التقليدية عند استخدامه بشكل صحيح (أي على الأجيال الشابة). على الرغم من أن مبيدات الآفات الكيميائية تقتل الجراد على الفور ، إلا أن السكان يرتفعون مرة أخرى بعد فترة وجيزة. لذلك ، على المدى الطويل ، فهي أقل فعالية. 

للمبيدات الحيوية الفطرية تأثيرات طويلة الأمد لأسباب عديدة. يمكن للفطر أن ينتشر من الجراد المصاب إلى الجراد السليم. ويمكنه أيضًا البقاء على قيد الحياة في البيئة لعدة أسابيع ، أو حتى شهور ، ويستمر في الإصابة. هذا يعني أن هناك حاجة أقل لإعادة تقديم الطلب.  

العضلات الخضراءTM يمكنه أيضًا مكافحة الجراد المقاوم لمبيدات الآفات الكيميائية ، وهي ظاهرة أصبحت أكثر شيوعًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن المبيدات الحيوية فعالة أيضًا ضد أنواع مختلفة من الجراد ، مثل الجراد الصحراوي والجراد الأحمر وجراد الساحل وأكثر من ذلك.  

افاق المستقبل

التغيرات المناخية يعتبر السبب الرئيسي لتفشي الجراد في الآونة الأخيرة. يمكن أن تزدهر في الظواهر الجوية الشديدة. يعد استخدام منتجات المكافحة الحيوية الأقل ضررًا على البيئة أمرًا ضروريًا لتجنب المساهمة في المشكلة.   

ممارسات الرصد الجيدة ضرورية لضمان فعالية المبيدات الحيوية مثل Green MuscleTM. يعني الاكتشاف المبكر للجراد أنه يمكن استخدام المبيدات الحيوية بسرعة ، وتجنب تلك الفاشيات.

مزيد من المعلومات:

للعثور على منتجات الحماية الحيوية المسجلة ، تصفح ملف منصة كابي للمكافحة الحيوية CABI BioProtection Portal.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

مقالات ذات صلة

هل هذه الصفحة مفيدة؟

نأسف لأن الصفحة لم تتوافق مع
التوقعات. من فضلك دعنا نعرف كيف
يمكننا تحسينه.

Skip to main content

A fungal biopesticide to prevent and control locust swarms

Theme: Biocontrol agents

Dozens of desert locusts roosting in East Africa
Roosting desert locusts Schistocerca gregaria in East Africa © CABI

Biocontrol agents have the potential to control effectively even the most destructive pests. In recent years, a fungal biopesticide has been used on a large scale to control the desert locust in Africa. In addition to being less harmful to the environment, one of the advantages of bioprotectants, the fungal agent prevents significant economic losses.  

The desert locust pest

The desert locust, Schistocerca gregaria, is one of the world’s most notorious and severe agricultural pests. The pest is problematic in numerous countries in Africa and Asia. Locust swarms are particularly destructive as they attack a wide variety of crops and can decimate entire crops and pastures.

The desert locust is responsible for extensive yield loss. It threatens food security and people’s livelihoods. It also feeds on wild plants, having disastrous consequences for the environment. The desert locust is also extremely dangerous because it can travel long distances, up to 140 kilometers a day. It can then quickly spread to all fields in the region.

If not controlled successfully, this pest can not only cause enormous crop and economic losses, but it can also establish itself in new regions.

A microbial biopesticide against locusts

Microbial biocontrol agents have been developed and used to control various locust and grasshopper species, including the desert locust. The products contain a fungus called Metarhizium anisopliae. Green MuscleTM is one product that CABI has been working on with Elephant Vert.  

The microbial biopesticide is sprayed on locust individuals. The fungus infects locusts and starts to grow inside them. In the first few days, locusts become weak. They feed less and move slower. It makes them easy prey for birds and other predators and prevents them from spreading too much. This already reduces crop damage. Eventually, the locusts die from the infection.

Two dead locusts infected by a Metarhizium fungus
Locusts killed by a Metarhizium sp. fungus © CSIRO via science.image.csiro.au (CC BY 3.0)

Efficacy and benefits of the microbial biopesticide

Green MuscleTM is particularly effective as it can kill up to 90% of treated locusts within three weeks. This pathogenic fungus prevented substantial losses during several outbreaks in recent years. For instance, it was used in 2019 and 2020 in Northeast Africa on over 230 000 thousand hectares.  

Green MuscleTM has several advantages. It is more effective than conventional chemical pesticides when used correctly (i.e., on young generations). Although chemical pesticides immediately kill locusts, the population rises again shortly after. So, in the long term, they are less effective. 

The fungal biopesticide has more long-lasting effects for many reasons. The fungus can spread from infected to healthy locusts. It can also survive in the environment for several weeks, even months, and continue to infect. This means there is less need for a re-application.  

Green MuscleTM can also control locusts resistant to chemical pesticides, a phenomenon becoming more common. In addition, the biopesticide is also effective against various locust species, such as the desert locust, the red locust, the Sahelian tree locust and more.  

Future prospects

Climate change is considered to be the main reason for recent locust outbreaks. They can thrive in extreme weather events. Using biocontrol products that are less harmful to the environment is necessary to avoid contributing to the problem.   

Good monitoring practices are essential to ensure the efficacy of biopesticides such as Green MuscleTM. Early spotting of locusts means that biopesticides can be used quickly, avoiding those outbreaks.

More information:

To find registered bioprotection products, browse the CABI BioProtection Portal.

Share this page

Related articles

Looking for safe and sustainable ways of managing pests and diseases?
Is this page helpful?

We are sorry the page didn't meet your
expectations. Please let us know how
we can improve it.